Merry (Late) Christmas!


Merry Christmas

I just realized I haven’t posted since Thanksgiving so I thought I’d update all one persons that are following this blog. 🙂 It’s been almost two months, I think, since I lost my job. I have built two websites for clients for next to no pay. It has been a learning experience. Although it may not sound fruitful, it’s made me realize that I really want to make this career change permanent. I always loved this field, but the more I learn, the more I want to …well… keep learning! I also decided I want to focus my area of expertise in designing and developing web site themes. Word Press themes specifically. In building the two sites I mentioned above and getting to know (and like) Word Press more, I discovered Theme Forest. It’s one of the top three marketplaces for selling web site themes. If I can come up with some designs that sell, I can still get to design and develop but won’t have to deal with tailoring my work to a specific customer. I can design and develop at my own pace and sit back and collect money as my themes sell! Now understand that I understand… there’s more to it than that. I need to become great ( or at least for now, decent ) at web design. This means learning and applying the latest and top design techniques. I will also need to get great with using Photo Shop, or it’s close second (in my opinion) and as I prefer, GIMP. I will have to continue learning the latest in web development. Including, but not limited to, the latest standards such as HTML5, CSS3, jQuery, etc. And staying up-to-date with my CMS of choice Word Press. So.. I’ve gain a lot of knowledge and experience in the past couple months, but I have a lot yet to learn. But, God willing, I’ll be working from home selling my designs on-line in the next year or two. Enjoy the new year! (I plan to)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

